How to Be Gluten-Free

Our meal plans are always gluten-free friendly, but if you have an allergy or sensitivity, here are some things you should know for smart shopping and living gluten-free.

http://photos.happyherbivore.com/2012/11/GlutenFreeHappyHerbivore.jpg

What is gluten? Gluten is a plant-based protein found in various grains (wheat, barley, rye, spelt, and kamut) and their derivatives such as barley malt, wheat maltodextrin and malt vinegar. (For more information see this post, What is Gluten?).

Avoiding the whole grain is fairly easy, the problem comes from the derivatives that are hidden in foods.

  • FALSE FRIENDS

The following foods seem like they would be gluten-free but often are not. They're either crosscontaminated or they contain a wheat deriviative. When shopping for these items, look for a certified gluten-free brand, check the ingredients and see if the product is made in a facility that processes wheat or any of the grains containing gluten.

Animal Products (i.e. yogurt, cheese, deli meat)

Broth / Soup

Brown Rice Syrup

Candy

Dried Fruit

Marinades

Matzo Products

Medication / Supplements

Oats

Pasta

Potato Chips

Rice Blends

Seasoned Nuts

Soy Sauce (try Tamari instead)

Tempeh

Vegan Substitutes

  • GLUTEN-FREE PLANT FOODS (SAFE LIST)

These foods should be truly gluten-free and free of any cross-contamination. Don't shop blindly though! Still check the label to be sure.

Beans

Buckwheat

Carob

Coffee / Tea (check label)

Corn Products

Flax

Fresh / Frozen Vegetables

Kasha

Legumes

Millet

Nuts

Quinoa

Rice

Rice Flour

Seeds

Sorghum

Soy Products (check labels)

Tapioca

Our meal plans are always Gluten-Free! Get the current meal plan now.

Enjoyed this post? Get our blog posts sent to your email